The Republic of Armenia is a sovereign, democratic, welfare state, governed by the rule of law, and founded on the principles of separation and balance of powers among the legislative, executive and judicial branches of government. The President is the head of state, elected for a term of five years.

The legislative branch is embodied by the National Assembly, comprised of 131 parliamentarians. The National Assembly is also elected for a five-year term, elections being most recently held in May 2012. Executive power is in the hands of the Government of the Republic of Armenia, which consists of the Prime Minister and the body of 18 Ministers. In addition, there are seven state agencies adjunct to the Government. At the provincial level, Government policy is implemented by the governors (marzpets).

Communities are self-governing. All powers of government administration not claimed by sub-national levels revert to the Government.

The judicial brand is composed of the Courts of First Instance, Courts of Appeal, and the Supreme Court. The highest authority, outside of constitutional questions, is the Supreme Court, whose role is to ensure the uniform application of law.


*Acknowledgement – this content is provided from Investment Guide Armenia 2013 upon approval. – Full report here